Top Navigation

Demerit Points Scheme

The Demerit Points Scheme is a national program that allocates penalty points (demerits) for a range of driving offences. The scheme is designed to encourage safe and responsible driving. Along with financial penalties, demerit points provide a strong incentive to drive within the law.

A driver who has not committed any offences has zero points. When an offence that carries demerit points is committed, the points are added to the licence holder’s driving record. If the licence holder incurs the threshold number of demerit points within a three-year period, a licence suspension or refusal is applied.  

The thresholds are as follows:

  • Unrestricted licence – 13 points. 
  • Professional drivers – 14 points 
  • Provisional P2 licence – 7 points. 
  • Provisional P1 licence – 4 points. 
  • Learner licence – 4 points