Top Navigation

Staff and Structure

Inner West Council is a new council formed by the merger of the former Ashfield, Leichhardt and Marrickville Councils. It was proclaimed by the NSW Minister for Local Government on 12 May 2016.

Council employs over 1250 staff, organised into various sections with different responsibilities. 


Richard Pearson

Mr Richard Pearson is the Administrator of the new Inner West Council until new Councillors are elected in September 2017. The Administrator has the functions of the full council and mayor.

Mr Pearson is a former Deputy Secretary of the Department of Planning and Environment, Mr Pearson has over 25 years’ experience in town planning, organisational change and reform and the leadership of government agencies.

He has close links with local government having started his career at Wollongong and Byron councils and later managing the regional offices of the Department of Planning. This involved front line liaison with local councils in developing their local environmental plans and preparation of regional strategies.

Recently Mr Pearson has been running his own town planning and policy consultancy.

Interim General Manager

Rik Hart is the interim General Manager for Inner West Council, and oversees Council's day to day operations.

Mr Hart is a very experienced local government General Manager, having previously served in that capacity for the former Warringah Council on Sydney's northern beaches for almost a decade.

Mr Hart concluded his appointment at Warringah Council in May following the merger of Warringah, Pittwater and Manly councils.

Mr Hart was previously Chief Executive of the Hutt City Council in New Zealand for five years. Prior to holding that position he was Chief Executive of the Victorian Department of State Development, also for five years.